Being Okay With All Of It

I don’t have what I want. Or at least I don’t have what I think I want. I think back to times in my life when, if I had just acted a certain way or said a certain thing, then I could have achieved something that I wanted. But I didn’t do those things and now I just look back on those times as missed opportunities. That leads to frustration. I can’t think like that for too long because I know that God ordered the events of my entire life from when I was born until the day that I die. So I can’t fault myself for not doing something or other, especially if it wasn’t what God had in mind for me. But this doesn’t stop my mind from running in circles.

Sometimes I think about my life and I’m glad. Sometimes I think about my life and I’m really not and I feel as though I really have screwed everything up beyond repair.

When I get into this mode of thinking, I begin to think about my life in terms of days, rather than as a cohesive whole. I find it much easier (and soothing) to think on this level instead. I can’t worry about what’s going to happen (or not going to happen) in five years or ten when I have today to focus on.

That’s why I’m glad God gave us days.

Leave a comment